Thursday, May 20, 2010

Reggae Gold 2010 Update

Reggae Gold 2010
  1. 'Hold You' by Gyptian
  2. 'Holiday' by Ding Dong featuring Chevaughn Clayton
  3. 'Clarks' by Vybz Kartel featuring Popcaan & Gaza Slim
  4. 'As We Enter' by Damian Marley & Nas
  5. 'Skip To Ma Lu' by Serani featuring Ding Dong
  6. 'Slow Motion' by Vybz Kartel
  7. 'Never Let Me Go' by Shaggy & Tessane Chin
  8. 'Sweet Love [Night Shift]' by Busy Signal
  9. 'Love's Contagious' by Tarrus Riley
  10. 'Happy Heart' by Etana
  11. 'Hold My Hand' by Sean Paul
  12. 'The Realest Song' by Konshens
  13. 'Cry Fi Dem' by Wasp
  14. 'Say He, I Love You' by Michael Frant & Spearhead featuring Cherine Anderson
  15. 'Hold The Line' by Major Lazer featuring Mr. Lex & Santigold
  16. 'House Cleaning' by Mavado
  17. 'Live Mi Life' by Romain Virgo
  18. 'No Apology' by Beres Hammond

I'm never really high on the RG album because it's more aimed at the newer crowd and as you can tell by looking around here, I ain't a newer fan. But I'm pretty pleased by this year's edition actually. I was sure of two tunes being here, one was, of course, 'Hold You' from Gyptian and the next was Kartel with his 'Clarks', but I most certainly wasn't expecting what is probably the best tune I've heard from Kartel in 2-3 years 'Slow Motion' (biggup Ce'Cile) (biggup Shaggy). Nas and Gong's 'As We Enter' was less of a surprise, but a very powerful addition as VP goes and flexes the biggest muscles in the industry by adding the tune. Busy, Tarrus, Etana, Mavado, Sean Paul and Romain Virgo were also expected to some degree, but I don't really have too many complaints there. I saw Tessanne Chin and thought they had dropped 'Loving You', but 'Never Let Me Go' is very nice as well.

Was very happy to see both Konshens and Wasp and also, not that I was surprised, but Beres Hammond's 'No Apologies' from the Classic Riddim.

Reggae Gold 2010 drops on June 22nd.

No comments:

Post a Comment